All Collections
GeoNadir overview
Workspace and projects access controls
Workspace and projects access controls

This article explains the different access controls when inviting collaborators into both free and paid workspaces, and projects.

Paul Mead avatar
Written by Paul Mead
Updated over a week ago

Who can use this feature

All users on the GeoNadir web app have access to their own workspace/s and any workspace to which they have been invited.

More detail on what a workspace is can be found in the Helpdesk article here.

In this article we are going to dive into what a user with different permission levels can access in a workspace or project.

What is the difference between giving a user access at a project level vs a workspace level?

A project is a collection of datasets (orthomosaic, DSM, DTM) and vector layers (points, lines, polygons) with a specific mapping purpose or location. For example 'weeds in coastal southern California'. When you invite collaborators into a specific project they be a guest of your workspace and will have access to the following:

  • The project they are invited into

  • Any datasets contained in that project

The level of access to the project is up to you to stipulate as editors, commenters, or viewers.

A workspace is the overarching container for ALL your projects and datasets. When you invite collaborators into your workspace they will become members of your workspace and have access to the following:

  • ALL the project/s in the workspace

  • ALL the datasets in the workspace

  • Listing of members in the workspace (under workspace management)

  • Workspace settings (under workspace management)

The level of access to projects, datasets, and workspace management is up to you to stipulate as managers, editors, commenters, or viewers.

What are the different access levels available?

There are different access levels for your collaborators in both projects and workspaces, depending on the subscription plan of your workspace.

Access levels can be changed at anytime for any member or guest.

Essentials

Professional

Pro +

Owner

x

x

x

Manager

x

Editor

x

x

Commenter

Projects only

x

x

Viewer

Projects only

x

x

Guest

x

x

x

Access levels explained

Owner and Manager are workspace level permissions.

Owner

  • Owns the workspace and has full permissions including billing.

  • Counts as a paid member on Professional and Pro + subscriptions.

Manager (Pro + only)

  • Can manage everything in the workspace except billing.

  • Can invite and remove other collaborators (managers, editors, commenters, viewers) in workspace and projects.

  • Can upload data to the workspace or projects.

  • Can edit dataset details in any datasets.

  • Can download datasets.

  • Can change project sharing settings.

  • Can delete projects and datasets from the workspace.

  • Counts as a paid member.

Editor, Commenter, and Viewer are permissions that can be set at the workspace level for Professional or Pro + subscriptions or project level.

Editor (Professional and Pro +)

  • Can use the editing tools in the workspace and projects.

  • Can invite and remove other collaborators (commenters and viewers) in workspace and projects.

  • Can upload data to the workspace or projects.

  • Can edit dataset details in a dataset they uploaded.

  • Can add or remove a dataset in a project.

  • Counts as a paid member or guest.

Commenter (all plans)

  • Can comment on all projects if invited at the workspace level, or just on the project they have been invited into.

  • Can invite and remove other viewers into the workspace and/or project/s.

  • Can view all datasets if invited at the workspace level, or just the datasets in the project they have been invited into.

  • Counts as a free member or guest.

Viewer (all plans)

  • Can view all projects if invited at the workspace level, or just on the project they have been invited into.

  • Counts as a free member or guest.

Owner

Manager

Editor

Viewer

Commenter

Guest

Billing

x

view only

Counts as paid

x

x

x

if editing

Access all datasets

x

x

x

x

x

only those in the invited project

Access all projects

x

x

x

x

x

only the invited project

Invite and remove members

x

x

viewers and commenters only

Upload datasets

x

x

x

if editing

Delete datasets

x

x

Download datasets

x

x

Create projects

x

x

x

Delete projects

x

x

Can access levels vary between projects?

Absolutely. Any access given at the workspace level will apply to all projects. However if you would like a higher level access for a specific project, you can achieve this within that project.

For example, you would like one of your colleagues to be able to view all of the datasets and projects in your workspace, but you want them to be able to edit and make changes 'project x'. In this case, you would invite them as a member with view access to the workspace first, and then go into 'project x' to invite them as an editor. As an editor, they will then count towards your paid quota.

Does a user need to have a paid subscription to access my workspace or project?

No. Payment is handled at the workspace level. As the workspace owner you can decide if you would like a free (Essentials) or paid (Professional or Pro +) workspace.

The level of workspace (Essentials, Professional, Pro +) will give you the ability to invite in other types of collaborators and the number of each, in addition to access to other features.

You can sign up for a free GeoNadir account, but be invited into a workspace that has paid features available to you.

Still got questions? Get in touch with us via message (bottom right) or email hello(at)geonadir.com

Did this answer your question?